On the Rivers of The Meaning of Rivers   1 comment

This fall, I’ve been fortunate to have the opportunity to read from or otherwise talk about the book with a variety of audiences.  Below is a link to a presentation I made at Oberlin College, thanks to Ray English & the Friends of the Library, in which I describe the making of the book & especially some of the adventures in field research.  (I have since slightly revised the facial hair configuration.)

http://vimeo.com/32295169

Posted December 14, 2011 by the meaning of rivers in Uncategorized

One response to “On the Rivers of The Meaning of Rivers

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Professor,
    I’ve always followed your blog, and now I have my own. My first post is about the environmental destruction of North America, white guilt, and the myth of the Noble Savage. I’d love it if you could check it out! By the way, I’ve been reading a great biography about steamboat mogul Cornelius Vanderbilt (The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt). I can see why you’re so fascinated by them. The author talks a lot about how competitive the industry was; to entertain and compete for customers, steamboats sometimes raced each other across rivers, pushing their boilers to the limit and setting their boats on fire. Customers died. All the time. Exciting stuff! It makes me want to reread Life on the Mississippi.
    Hope you’re doing well!
    -Charlie

Leave a Reply

